
SFAC/TFAC Penalty Workgroup Meeting Minutes 6-2-16 

Attendees: 

Sarah Widman 
Jacob Holtz 
Sgt. Bowman 
Christian Dabb 
Cynthia Goshorn 
Roger Trageser 
Richard Young 
Bill Scerbo 
 
Sarah Widman, DNR Fisheries, gave an overview of some recent penalty items. 
 
The Interstate Wildlife Violators Compact which Maryland is a signatory of will be going into full effect 
soon.  Maryland had to wait for the e-license system to be changed in order to be able to suspend all 
individuals listed under this compact.  Those changes are being made and more public outreach will 
occur as the system goes into effect. 
 
The NRP will be moving towards an e-ticketing system similar to the MSP.  This is scheduled to be 
phased in over the next year or so.  In order to have this system, all violations (subsections of law) must 
be listed out in the fine schedule.  The fine schedule has been redrafted to break it out into each 
individual subsection of law.  Because of these changes, Sarah asked that commissioners bring forward 
only those fines they would like to see changed.  There was a discussion of herring fines and ultimately it 
was suggested that no changes be made.  
 
It was also discussed that because e-tickets will look different and each subsection of law is listed, the 
penalty schedule or fine schedule may need to be changed in order for the two systems to correctly 
correspond to each other.  Commissioners suggested perhaps making separate fine tiers for 1,2,3 fish 
and then continuing on with the rest 4-6, 7-10, etc.  This will be the case for any violation that is 
enumerated (number of gear, distance or number of fish). 
 
The group also discussed adding criminal theft related activities to the fine schedule so that regardless 
of whether someone is charged with criminal theft of fishing gear or fish or something under natural 
resources law, they will be suspended. 
 
The group then discussed the penalty schedules.   
Recreational and Fishing Guides 

08.02.13.05 

E(5) – currently no tolerance for over rec crab catch limit 

Recommended Change: under one bushel – leave on 90 day over a bushel add to 180 day 

E (6) – currently no tolerance for outside recreational catch time 



Recommended Change: To more than 30 minutes outside catch time  

E(37-39, 43)Daily catch limits for striped bass  

Recommended Change: change tier in fine schedule to match penalty schedule 

E(52) season violations 1-5fish 

Recommended Change: change tier in fine schedule to match penalty schedule 

F(45) targeting striped bass in a closed area 

Recommended Change: Move to 365 days 

G(55) housekeeping – re-spell possess 

Recommended Change: as suggested above 

G(72) Delayed Harvest wrong gear 

Recommended Change: change to add fly only areas with a wrong gear same as delayed harvest 

New addition: Add using a barbed hook during preseason for striped bass – 180 day suspension 

Commercial 

08.02.15.03 

C(2) untagged oyster containers – 

Recommended Change:  Having 2-3 bushels on the 5 points no suspension tier, and keeping 4-5 bushels 

on the 15 points tier 

C(14) shipping/selling hard clams without a license 

Recommended Change: add to same tier as unlicensed commercial activity  

C(15) Worcester County – taking hard clams without a license 

Recommended Change: add to same tier as unlicensed commercial activity  

C(16) Operating a hydraulic clam dredge without a license 

Recommended Change: add to same tier as unlicensed commercial activity  

C(21) Unlawfully selling soft-shell clams 

Recommended Change: add to same tier as unlicensed commercial activity  

C(41) Commercial harvesting snapping turtles without a license 



Recommended Change: add to same tier as unlicensed commercial activity  

C(68) Haul seine sealing requirement 

Recommended Change: Remove – requirement was removed during session 

D(1) – failing to sell oysters to a buy station 

Recommended Change: No change 

E(5) untagged oyster containers 3-5 

Recommended Change: No change 

E(8) – harvesting oysters from certain closed areas 

Need to change to staring at 51 feet not 50 feet in order to match the lower tier violation. 

E(25) – possessing 1-10 river herring 

Recommended Change: Move to 5 points for 6-10 fish  

F(2) untagged oysters 6-9 

Recommended Change: No change 

F(12) river herring possession – 11-20 

Recommended Change: No change 

H(9) River herring possession – 21 or more fish 

Recommended Change: No change 

New addition:  Add failure to refrigerate soft shell clams to 25 point tier 

Seafood Dealers 

If we alter tiers/tolerances for oyster tagging for harvesters, do we alter any of the tiers on this 

schedule?  They are start at 1-5 containers untagged is 5 pts no suspension. 

Recommended Change: None 

 


