

Larry Hogan, Governor Boyd Rutherford, Lt. Governor Mark Belton, Secretary Joanne Throwe, Deputy Secretary

Meeting of the Black Bass Advisory Subcommittee
August 9, 2016
Tawes State Office Building
C-1 Conference Room
Annapolis, MD 21401
Summary of Motions & Actions

<u>Subcommittee members in Attendance:</u> Dennis Fleming (Chair), Kenneth Penrod III (Vice Chair), Andy Andrzejewski, Keith Barker, Thomas Bateman, Steve Chaconas, Stephen Hawks, Bryan Kelly, Nicholas Kuttner, Scott Sewell, Roger Trageser, Steve Weimar, and John Wheeler.

Commissioners Absent and Represented: Steve Chaconas (phone-in)

DNR Staff Attending: Fisheries Director Dave Blazer, Tony Prochaska, Gina Hunt, Mary Groves, Joe Love

Members of the Public Attending: Gene Gilliland

Action Items:

- DNR Staff will purchase tent table cards for each committee member.
- DNR Staff will provide an electronic copy of "Special Conditions" to subcommittee members for their consideration prior to the next subcommittee meeting.
- DNR Staff will provide an electronic map of possible closed or catch & return areas to subcommittee members for their consideration prior to the next subcommittee meeting.

Motions:

- The subcommittee nominated and elected Chair and Vice Chair. Dennis Fleming was the sole nominee for Chair and was elected to the position. Two subcommittee members were nominated as Vice Chair. Kenneth Penrod III was elected by a vote of 7-6.
- The subcommittee motioned to consider a possession restriction or waiver option statewide between June 16 and the end of February. The motion was amended to include only Potomac River and the upper Chesapeake Bay, defined as waters north of a horizontal line drawn from Turkey Point and west to shore.
- The subcommittee voted to adopt the possession restriction (i.e., Option 2 of Method 1) by a vote of 8-4 with 1 member abstaining.

Tentative Agenda Items for Next Meeting:

- Vote on catch-and-return or no target areas (i.e., <u>Method 2</u>).
- Discuss "Special Conditions"

Next Meeting Date: September 13, 2016

To be held in the Conference Room C-1 of the Tawes Building from 6:00 - 8:30 PM