

Larry Hogan, Governor Boyd Rutherford, Lt. Governor Mark Belton, Secretary Joanne Throwe, Deputy Secretary

Meeting of the Sport Fisheries Advisory Commission
January 24, 2017
C-1 Conference Room
DNR Tawes Office Building
580 Taylor Ave
Annapolis, MD 21403

Summary of Motions & Actions

<u>Commissioners in Attendance:</u> Chairman-Elect David Sikorski, Ed O'Brien, Jim Gracie, Mark DeHoff, Phil Langley, Roger Trageser, Rachel Dean, Micah Dammeyer, Chris Pittas (proxy for Beverly Fleming), John Neely, Grant Soukup (proxy for Dr Ray Morgan), Val Lynch and James Wommack.

Commissioners Absent and Not Represented: Tim Smith, Rob Hardy

<u>DNR Staff Attending:</u> Fisheries Director Dave Blazer, Lt. Timothy Grove, Lt. Melissa Scarborough, Paul Genovese, Mike Luisi, Tony Prochaska, Nancy Butowski, Carrie Kennedy, Jacob Holtz, Lynn Fegly, Kelly Collins-Choi and Sarah Dawes.

<u>Members of the Public Attending:</u> John Page Williams (CBF), Ken Lewis (CCA), Larry Jennings (CCA?), Allison Colden (CBF), Captain Curtis (charter captain), Sammy Orlando (NOAA sanctuary program).

Action Items:

- David Sikorski moved up to Chair of the commission (from Vice-Chair).
- As Chair, David Sikorski volunteered to represent the commission on the Tidal Fisheries Advisory Commission, there were no objections.
- Department will supply feedback on alternate commercial and charterboat harvest reporting options, this is in response to the challenges the industry faces related to reporting and requirements.
- Comments accepted through March 31 on proposed Mallows Bay rules, boundary options and management plan. A summary of the proposal was presented to the commission. Public meeting schedule and comments accepted at http://sanctuaries.noaa.gov/mallows-bay/.
- Yellow Perch Workgroup will convene once the 2017 commercial catch report is available and prior to the April 25 SFAC meeting. Workgroup will discuss and finalize recommendations to handle future commercial overages.
- Commission requested the department reach out to Washington, D.C.'s ASMFC members and ask they become more involved in the ASMFC process by attending all meetings.

Motions:

SFAC voted unanimously to appoint member Phil Langley as Vice-Chair of the commission, the Vice-Chair seat was vacated when David Sikorski became Chair of the commission. Motion submitted by Ed O'Brien, seconded by John Neely.

• Commission supports a second signed letter of support for the Mallows Bay Marine Sanctuary, as proposed. Commission originally sent a letter of support for the sanctuary in 2014. Motion submitted by Jim Gracie, seconded by Roger Trageser. Vote was 12 in favor, 1 abstained.

Tentative Agenda Items for Next Meeting:

Next Meeting Date:

April 25, 2017

To be held in the Conference Room C-1 of the Tawes Building from 3:00-6:00 PM.