This is an abridged version of the rules and does not include all regulated species. The printed version of COMAR is the official and enforceable text. Only the official text may be judicially noticed under Courts and Judicial Proceedings, Section 10-203, Annotated Code of Maryland. Consult the Maryland Register, Code of Maryland Regulations and Natural Resources Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland for full legal text.

# Chesapeake Bay, Coastal Bays, and Atlantic Ocean Gill Net Regulations Summary

The following summary applies to the waters of the:

#### CHESAPEAKE BAY and ITS TRIBUTARIES

# Methods of Fishing Allowed

- 1. All gill net fishing MUST use a Drift Gill Net
- 2. Fisherman must be within 2 miles of the net in Chesapeake, 1 mile of the net in tributaries

#### Types of Net Allowed

- 1. Nylon Net
- 2. Multi-strand Monofilament

## Mesh Sizes that are Allowed (Species other than Striped Bass)

- 1. January 1 March 15: Gill net mesh size must be  $3^{1/8} 3^{1/2}$  inches
- 2. March 16 December 31: Gill net mesh size must be  $2^{1/2} 3^{1/2}$  inches

# Striped bass fishery

- 1. Not less than 5 or greater than 7 inch mesh
- 2. Total length of drift gill net aboard a boat may not exceed 3,500 yards and may not be contained in more than ten containers
- 3. Ends of nets must be marked
- 4. Drift Gill Net season is December 1 through the last day of February
- 5. Drift gill net may not be set before 3 a.m. and shall be retrieved and in the boat by 6 p.m.
- 6. Except for the last Saturday and Sunday in February, drift gill nets may not be set on Saturday or Sunday

# Where and When You CAN'T Gill Net...

- 1. May 1 October 31: Within 1,200 ft of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge.
- 2. June 1 October 31: In the Chesapeake Bay waters which lie between a line drawn from Kent Point to Curtis Point (Mid Bay) and a line drawn from Howell Point to Taylor Island Point (Upper Bay).
- 3. March 1 June 30:
  - a. Spawning Reaches;
  - b. In the Susquehanna Flats upstream of a line from Sandy Point to Turkey Point;
  - c. In the Susquehanna and Northeast Rivers; and
  - d. From sunset Friday to 1 hour before sunrise Monday in the Spawning Rivers and Areas.
- 4. Numerous areas in the Chesapeake have restrictions on nets, gill nets and setting of nets in specific county laws in the Maryland Annotated Code. Consult the Code.

#### COASTAL BAYS and ATLANTIC OCEAN

#### Methods of Gill Net Fishing Allowed

- 1. Stake, Anchor and Drift Gill Nets are permitted
- 2. Fishermen must be within 1 mile of drift gill nets in the waters of the Atlantic Ocean, its coastal bays, and their tributaries

# Types of Net Allowed

- 1. Monofilament
- 2. Nylon Net
- 3. Multi-strand Monofilament

# Mesh Sizes that are Allowed

- 1. Drift gill net
  - a. January 1 March 15: Gill net mesh size must be 3<sup>1/8</sup> 3<sup>1/2</sup> inches
    b. March 16 December 31: Gill net mesh size must be 2<sup>1/2</sup> 3<sup>1/2</sup> inches
- 2. Stake or Anchor gill net
  - a. 2½ inch minimum mesh size
- 3. 3-inch minimum mesh size for weakfish and trout fishing
- 4. No limit on maximum mesh size

## Where and When You CAN'T Gill Net

Herring Creek south of State Road Bridge

## Gillnets you may use to commercially catch sharks

- 1. Large mesh gillnet (stretch mesh size of 5 or more inches)
  - a. Must be shorter than 2.5 kilometers, and
  - b. Checked once every 2 hours
- 2. Small mesh gillnet (stretch mesh size of less than 5 inches)